Announcing the 2018 Emory University Creativity & Arts Awards

January 22, 2018

The Emory College Center for Creativity & Arts (CCA) announces the winners of the eighth annual Creativity & Arts Awards, presented to individuals on Emory’s campus and in the local community who support development, accessibility, inclusion, and innovation in the arts.

Awardees will be honored at the Creativity & Arts Awards celebration Thursday, Jan. 25 at 6:30 p.m. in the Chace Upper Gallery of Emory’s Schwartz Center for Performing Arts.

The 2018 Community Impact Arts Advocate Award will be presented to Emory college alumna and former member of the Emory Board of Trustees, Laura Hardman. Elected to the board in 1983, Hardman served as secretary of the board and chair of the Board of Trustees Campus Life Committee during her tenure. An active supporter of the arts on campus in and Atlanta, Hardman is a Lifetime Director on the Alliance Theatre’s Board of Directors where she also serves as a community volunteer and the Advisory Board Chair.

This year, the Center for Creativity & Arts will honors Rosemary Magee with the Emory University Arts Crusader Award in recognition of her lifelong devotion to the advancement of the arts and creativity on Emory’s campus. Magee serves as Director of Emory’s Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library. She holds a PhD from Emory, where she formerly served as Vice President and Secretary of the university. As Vice President and Secretary, Magee was instrumental in the founding of the Schwartz Center for Performing Arts, spearheaded the university initiative Creativity: Art and Innovation, and established the Creativity Conversation series.

Other 2018 award recipients are:

  • Barbara Antley, Emory University Arts Volunteer
  • Nathan Blansett, Emory University Undergraduate Student
  • Sarah Blanton, Emory Healthcare
  • Linda Costa Cheranichit, Community Impact Artist
  • Christopher Escobar, Community Impact Arts Administrator
  • Jim Grimsley, Emory University Faculty
  • Dana Haugaard, Emory University Alumni
  • Carl Kubilus, Emory University Staff
  • Nicole Morris, Emory University Graduate Student

The awards ceremony is open to the public. Reservations are requested by emailing For more information, visit or call 404.712.9894.